Little Big Town Gets Emotional About "The Daughters" During Performance

Multi Grammy Award winning country music group, Little Big Town, stopped in Los Angeles to deliver a show stopping performance at the iHeartRadio Theater LA. The group is celebrating the launch of their ninth studio album, Nightfall, and have just kicked off the corresponding tour in New York City. During their iHeartCountry Album Release Party, the band performed a variety of hits from the latest album and previous work.

The set list included:

  1. Better Man
  2. Next To You
  3. Girl Crush
  4. Over Drinking
  5. Wine Beer Whiskey
  6. Nightfall 
  7. Throw Your Love Away
  8. Forever And A Night 
  9. Sugar Coat 
  10. Rocketman 
  11. Problem Child 
  12. Boondocks 

Celebration is sure to ensue, as the group plays legendary venues Carnegie Hall and Apollo Theater ahead of the GRAMMYs this Sunday January 26th.

The group is nominated for their record “The Daughters,” a song that holds dear to the full teams heart.

“We still seem to be talking about the same things. Equal play, equal pay, Equality, respect. Luckily we get to stand alongside a lot of men on this stage that are respectful and they have daughters,” Karen Fairchild emotionally addressed the crowd.

The band and crew who consider themselves a family, all have a total of 13 daughters.

Karen continued: “We're fortunate to stand alongside gentlemen that protect and care for the daughters, but it’s still a necessary conversation. It’s one that we have to keep having. Especially, I have to say thank you to iHeart, because I see more girls on the playlist now than I ever have.”

As far as bringing their new album together, it all kicked off with an email igniting the track “Next To You.”

“This is the beginning of the record, it feels like one of the first things,” Karen said, marveling over the fact that they’d just met the songwriters 30 minutes prior to the show.

Frequently referred to as a “gateway drug to county music,” the band said, they actually don’t mind that title.

“What an honor. If we can bring you in to such a beautiful format and you can learn to appreciate all of the beautiful artist, then I think that’s an incredible honor,” responded Philip Sweet, the “dreamer” of the crew.

The new album, which has been likened to a cinematic film, at first was not planned that way.

“We weren’t really planning on producing this whole record. We were just getting in the studio and working on some songs that we had fallen in love with over the last couple of years. We just started working on this handful of songs that we loved and the next thing we know we’re like 15 songs,” answered Jimi Westbrook.

“That was one thing, we just wanted it to be a dynamic record.”

Fans can hear more from Little Big Town on their “Nightfall Tour” as they stop in cities including Philadelphia, Boston, St. Louis, Tampa, Charleston, Atlanta, Chicago, Seattle, Portland, Las Vegas and more, before wrapping up in Denver in May.

102 KTRA · Farmington #1 Country

Listen Now on iHeartRadio